The Glimmer Tours Catholic Travel Blog

Gain first-hand insights into your travel destination, benefit from tailored resources, and enjoy faith-filled stories and experiences.

The 8 Beatitudes of Our Lord

The 8 Beatitudes of Our Lord – the blessings that mark the opening of the Sermon on the Mount, the first of Our Lord’s sermons in the Gospel of St. Matthew – are typically recited when travelers visit the top of the Mount of Beatitudes in the Holy Land.

Reciting these blessings on your pilgrimage is of great spiritual significance, as you will have the opportunity to recite them in the same location where Jesus recited them to His disciples.

Today, we will outline the 8 Beatitudes of Our Lord and their individual meanings so that you may acquaint yourself with the blessings before your travels.

The 8 Beatitudes of Our Lord

There is much to see when you visit the Holy Land. Below, we will cover some of the most sought-after destinations and some lesser-known details to look for during your visit.

The First Beatitude

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

The Second Beatitude

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

The Third Beatitude

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

The Fourth Beatitude

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

The Fifth Beatitude

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

The Sixth Beatitude

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

The Seventh Beatitude

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

The Eighth Beatitude

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

What is the Meaning of the Word ‘Beatitude’?

The word beatitude – although often used in relation to Our Lord’s sermon – is used to describe true and lasting happiness. In the context of the 8 Beatitudes of Our Lord, beatitudes refers to the promise of being blessed with happiness to those who faithfully follow Christ and His teachings, with each of the beatitudes representing a different means to achieving this happiness. You will notice that these blessings contradict what the world might say makes us happy.

Meaning Behind the First Beatitude

The first beatitude emphasizes that the Lord’s blessing of happiness is not dependent on physical blessings such as money or material possessions. Rather, He teaches that beatitude relies on being spiritually poor. Just as a person in poverty is dependent on the generosity of others, a person who is poor of spirit is dependent upon God and His blessings.

Meaning Behind the Second Beatitude

In the second beatitude, the Lord blesses those who mourn. While this may reference those who mourn the loss of someone or something, it also includes those who grieve over their own sins and the sins of the world.

Those who mourn in this way, renounce the temporary happiness of sin and worldly pleasure. They instead turn toward God and the beatitude He promises. This beatitude reassures those who mourn that the Lord carries the comfort of eternal life and peace with Him.

Meaning Behind the Third Beatitude

The third beatitude recognizes the meek, those who humbly bow before the Lord and restrain their passions. These people will “inherit the land,” which is thought to represent an inheritance of the Promised Land.

Meaning Behind the Fourth Beatitude

The fourth beatitude promises satisfaction to those who strive after righteousness by living justly in every situation. While their desire for justice may not be satisfied on arth, it will be in Heaven.

Meaning Behind the Fifth Beatitude

The fifth beatitude assures that those who generously grant mercy to others will obtain divine mercy through the Lord. In other words, those who show grace and kindness to others have access to endless compassion within God and His kingdom.

Meaning Behind the Sixth Beatitude

The sixth beatitude recognizes those who keep their thoughts and imagination clean of impure and sinful thoughts, reassuring them that they will see the Lord in Heaven. “Clean of heart,” then, signifies those who reserve their hearts and minds as holy Temples of God.

Meaning Behind the Seventh Beatitude

In the seventh beatitude, the Lord says that peacemakers are the children of God. Peace, ultimately, is the calm that results from things being in their proper order. Therefore, the peacemakers are those who promote peace by ordering their life and the world around them toward God and His love.

Meaning Behind the Eighth Beatitude

The eighth and final beatitude emphasizes those who suffer for doing what is good and virtuous (righteous), namely, following Christ. In other words, the Lord assures that this suffering does not go unnoticed, and those who suffer for following Him and His laws will be rewarded.

Additional Prayer Resources

For additional prayer resources, see our blog on the novena prayer for safe travel. Furthermore, prepare for your pilgrimage by reading about the Holy Land and the top details to look for while touring Holy Land sites.

We wish you safe and blessed travels!